Accelify Blog

Get to Know Accelify Consulting

July 1, 2014

Today’s spotlight is on Jack M. Fletcher, Ph.D., a Senior Consultant at Accelify Consulting.

Jack M. Fletcher, Ph.D., is a Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor of Psychology at the University of Houston. He received a BA degree from Davidson College in 1973 and a Ph.D. in clinical psychology from the University of Florida in 1978. Dr. Fletcher has been affiliated with The University of Houston since 1979; from 1978- 1985, Dr. Fletcher was the Acting Director of the Mental Retardation/ Developmental Disabilities Research Section at the Texas Research Institute of Mental Sciences; and from 1989-2006, Dr. Fletcher was a tenured Professor in the Division of Developmental Pediatrics in the Department of Pediatrics at The University of Texas Medical School- Houston.

For the past 30 years, Dr. Fletcher, a board-certified child neuropsychologist, has worked on issues related to child neuropsychology, including studies of children with spina bifida, traumatic brain injury, and other acquired disorders. In the area of developmental learning and attention disorders, Dr. Fletcher has addressed issues related to definition and classification, neurobiological correlates, and most recently, intervention.

Dr. Fletcher directs a Learning Disability Research Center grant and a long-term study involving genetic, neuroimaging, and neuropsychological factors in spina bifida, both funded by the National Institute of Child health and Human Development. He served on the NICHD National Advisory Council, the Rand Reading Study Group, the National Research Council Committee on Scientific Principles in Education Research, and the President’s Commission on Excellence in Special Education. The author of 3 books and over 200 papers, Dr. Fletcher was the recipient of the Samuel T. Orton award from the International Dyslexia Association in 2003 and a co-recipient of the Albert J. Harris award from the International Reading Association in 2006. He was President of the International Neuropsychological Society in 2008-2009.